REVIEWS OF THE CUTS THAT CURE

"This Texas/Mexico border-based novel does read at times like a dark western, calling to mind the almost Gothic overtones of Cormac McCarthy. Trips across the border into small, dangerous towns in Mexico and the presence of powerful criminals add to the action and the drama. A night at a strip club in Nuevo Laredo has a tone and tension reminiscent of Tarantino’s From Dusk til Dawn. The author is a master craftsman. I hope this is not the last we have heard from Arthur Herbert. There is true talent here."   -Joey Madia, New Mystic Reviews 

 

"I kind of just want to read this book again instead of reviewing it, because it was so good. I’m obsessed if you couldn’t tell. Arthur Herbert handles these characters so well. The talent it takes to create characters that feel so real, you’d think you’re reading a true story, is pretty awesome. If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would." -Book Blogger Jessica Belmont 

 

"Perfect for fans of Alex North! The Cuts That Cure is a well-developed thriller that will hook you right from the first chapter. With alternating POV's the author did a wonderful job of keeping me guessing and building this chilling story that I couldn't put down." -Author Mal McCartney 

 

"The humor, captivating dialogues, and a bunch or very fascinating characters— a mixture and balance of these and it felt like little bursts of life beneath my fingers and eyes. It was all so very delicious." -Goblin and Reaper book bloggers.   

 

"Herbert has a visceral way with crime writing, and it would be great to see him continue with Alex in some way or do something along the same lines Patricia Cornwell or Tess Gerritsen do. This is one of the most interesting crime thrillers I have read in a while."  -Book blogger Storme 

 

"The Cuts That Cure is a creative, well-told story that draws you deep into an unthinkable world. I could not put this book down and read much later into the night than I normally would. Psychological thriller fans will find everything they enjoy between these covers. This is a brilliant story that will keep you up at night." -Book blogger Zelda Smit 

 

"I haven't read a more suspenseful read in a long time. There were a couple of fabulous jaw drop moments that I'm not sure I'll ever get out of my head. The tone and great character arcs where folks are driven to lengths you never imagined on one page and even further on the next reminded me of Breaking Bad." -Book blogger Dana

"I’m a big fan of dark stories- if it makes me uncomfortable, I’m somehow comfortable? Herbert does just that. With a gripping storyline, developed characters, and great storytelling, I’d recommend The Cuts that Cure to anyone who loves a good dark psychological thriller." -Book blogger Ashley Hubbard  

 

"This well written tale is a roadmap for life’s trials and obstacles. Enjoy the narrative and experience the twists." –Book blogger CE Williams   

 

"I am amazed that this is a debut. The writing is well-done and I had a very hard time putting this one down. I really enjoyed the way it finished. I am excited to see what this author comes up with next." -Book blogger Angel White 

 

"I recommend this book if you enjoy complex thrillers." -Instagram book blogger @geauxgetlit 

 

"I recommend this book to readers who like psychological thrillers with a twist." -Book blogger Susan van der Walt 

"The story ends in a bit of a surprising twist and whirlwind of events that left me staring at my book open-mouthed in shock." -Book blogger Musings of a Final Girl 

-Interview with book blogger Nicole Pyles